15 July 2019 -

These are the finalists of the VI edition of the MeM Window Dressing Competition

One more edition, Madrid es Moda gives closure to the festival with the traditional awards ceremony of the Window Dressing Competition, one of the key pillars of this fashion and design urban celebration, both in its novel category as well as in its professional category.

Hotel Iberostar Las Letras once again hosted the awards ceremony that was attended by many of the participants in the contest and the different activities of Madrid es Moda, as well as the members of the jury and the competition’s sponsors.

Two schools have been participating in the novel category: the Istituto Europeo di Design (IED) and the Centre for Fashion Design in Madrid (CSDMM). Both design schools have competed with several window shops in different locations and in collaboration with ACME’s designers. CSDMM students have been the authors of Ana Locking's shop window at the Moda Shopping mall in Madrid and of Devota & Lomba’s in the Cement Design shop in calle Gravina. For its part, IED has made a shop window with designs by Duarte in Moda Shopping.

In the professional category there have been nine fashion brands competing for the prize: Moisés Nieto (in Lab Lamarca), Miguel Marinero (in InCasa), Roberto Verino (in his flagship in Serrano, 33), Pedro del Hierro (in the Goya store), Lexdeux (in their space in calle Justiniano), Lauwood (in their shop in La Moraleja Green), Lara Padilla (in Hotel Emperador), Paniculata (in the Ribes & Casals store in calle Atocha) and Imaginative Fashion (in Moda Shopping).

Schools and designers have thus shown their most creative side by dressing up shop windows in the capital and creating fashion spaces with messages. Finally, Moisés Nieto has won the award for Best Professional Shop Window with an environmental proposal to stop the massive consumption of low cost garments and re educate the consumer with powerful messages. "I am very happy to have won the award on this occasion. It was clear to me from the beginning that we wanted to make a window shop with a social meaning and not just stay in the aesthetic. We, the designers, must broadcast the problems we are facing," says the fashion designer.

Moisés Nieto receives the award for Best Professional Shop Window from Modesto Lomba, President of ACME and Beatriz Santaolalla, of Madrid City Council’s platform Madrid Fashion Capital.

Award for the Best Professional Shop Window, made by Moisés Nieto in Lab Lamarca.


The Best Novel Window Shop award went to the one made by Anna Pandozzi, a student at the Superior Design and Fashion Center of Madrid (CSDMM), at the Moda Shopping mall with a design by Ana Locking. The award was collected by Héctor Navarro, from the CSDMM, from Patricia Guzmán, from El Corte Inglés’s Communication and Institutional Relations Department, and from Tamara Alcalde, responsible for Communication at ACME. "This type of initiative is a great opportunity for the students, since it allows them to have a real professional experience linked to great designers, with a lot of visibility. As an academic exercise it also has great value, because it integrates a spatial design work with another one more analytical that forces us to understand the collections to be exhibited as a whole, creating an argument aligned with the designer's discourse," says Héctor Navarro.

Best Novel Window Shop award to CSDMM from Patricia Guzmán (El Corte Inglés) and Tamara Alcalde (ACME).

Best Novel Window Shop award to CSDMM, designs by Ana Locking

This contest could not exist without the support of Madrid Fashion Capital, the Madrid City Council platform, Reale SegurosMarcelo Vilá and El Corte Inglés, all of whom sponsor this competition that has already become a classic of the festival, and to whom, from here we would like to thank.

We are waiting for you all in the next edition of Madrid es Moda!

From left to right: Manuel Blanco, CEO of the CSDMM and Director of ETSAM, Modesto Lomba, President of ACME, Patricia Guzmán, of the Communication and RRII department of El Corte Inglés, Moisés Nieto, Héctor Izquierdo, professor of the CSDMM, Guillermo García-Badell, Director of the CSDMM, Tamara Alcalde, responsible for Communication of ACME, Beatriz Santaolalla, of the platform Madrid Capital of Fashion of the City Council of Madrid and Eloy Martínez de la Pera, jury of the contest.[:]