03 December 2022 - News

Ana Locking receives the Gold Medal for Merit in Fine Arts

The King and Queen of Spain presided yesterday, in Santa Cruz de Tenerife, over the delivery ceremony of the 33 Gold Medals for Merit in Fine Arts 2021 awarded by the Ministry of Culture and Sports. Designer Ana Locking, member of the current board of directors of the Asociación de Creadores de Moda de España (ACME), was one of the personalities and entities acknowledged in this edition for outstanding in the field of artistic and cultural creation, as well as for having provided notorious services in the promotion, development and broadcasting of art, culture and the conservation of artistic heritage.

“Following your dreams is never easy, they require a lot of work and dedication, they require you to focus completely and they do require constant drive and sacrifices. But if you keep the focus on your dreams nothing is impossible. This great honor and recognition of my career will help me overcome obstacles and continue telling stories through fashion or any other creative manifestation that, in the form of new challenges, I am currently working on. This Gold Medal for Merit in the Fine Arts has been a confirmation that all these years of loyal commitment to my work and way of understanding creation had a meaning”, states Ana Locking.

Pepa Bueno, Executive Director of ACME, adds: "With her work, Ana Locking has unequivocally demonstrated the importance of fashion design, while at the same time revealing its relevance in creating a more inclusive and diverse culture."

Miquel Iceta, Minister of Culture and Sports, Ángel Víctor Torres Pérez, President of the Government of the Canary Islands, Pedro Manuel Martín Domínguez, President of the Island Council of Tenerife, and José Manuel Bermúdez Esparza, Mayor of Santa Cruz de Tenerife, intervened during the event. Eva Amaral spoke a few words on behalf of all the winners. Present at the ceremony were Canarian fashion designers Pedro Palmas and Elena Morales, and members of ACME. The complete list of awardees is available in this link.